Policy Memos | Аналитические записки

Policy Memo # 382
Азербайджан лежит на пересечении крупных евразийских транспортных коридоров – как наземных, так и воздушных. С тех пор, как республика провозгласила независимость, ее правительство прилагает энергичные усилия, чтобы превратить Азербайджан в мост между Европой и Азией. За последние 10 лет миллиарды долларов были инвестированы в развитие коммерческой инфраструктуры и транспортные проекты. В настоящее время завершается строительство крупнейшего порта...
Policy Memo # 381
Кровопролитная гражданская война в Сирии и многолетняя нестабильность в Ираке стали магнитом как для опытных, так и для начинающих джихадистов на Кавказе и в Средней Азии. Как только начался гражданский конфликт в Сирии в 2011 году, туда сразу потянулись воинствующие исламисты из бывших советских республик. В последнее время многие из них также направляются в Ирак, чтобы воевать там на стороне ультрарадикальной джихадистской организации ИГИЛ (Исламское...
Policy Memo # 380
Часто говорят, что Китай, Россия и США ведут «Большую игру» в Центральной Азии. Если согласиться с этим утверждением, то следует также признать, что они играют в разные игры: Китай – в «Монополию», Россия – в «Риск», а США – в пасьянс. Для пекинских политиков смысл игры – бизнес, для московских  - экзистенциальные ценности, а для вашингтонских - раздумье. Для Китая интерес к Центральной Азии...
Policy Memo # 379
Генри Xейл, Надя Кравец, Ольга Онуч 18 Aug 2015
По мере того как война продолжает терзать Украину, различного рода наблюдатели и участники конфликта предложили множество потенциальных его решений, варьирующихся от более широкой региональной автономии и федерализма вплоть до частичного территориального размежевания. В то время как в наиболее значительных дискуссиях и в процессе принятия решений тон задают политики, восприятие проблемы населением Украины станет ключевым в обеспечении успеха какого бы то...
Policy Memo # 378
Карес Шенк 17 Aug 2015
В ходе подготовки к предоставлению гражданам Болгарии и Румынии полного доступа на рынок труда ЕС с января 2014 года британский премьер-министр Дэвид Кэмерон выдвинул новую политическую повестку, которая включала нарушавшее принципы Европейского Союза предложение сократить социальные пособия и дополнительные выплаты мигрантам из стран-членов ЕС. Данное предложение вызвало в Соединенном Королевстве дискуссии относительно того, может ли внутреннее...
Policy Memo # 377
Вступление Армении в возглавляемый Россией Евразийский Экономический Союз (ЕАЭС) в начале этого года привело к дальней классификации Армении как прочного союзника России. Тем не менее, Ереван продолжает искать политическое и торгово-экономическое равновесие в своих отношениях с Россией и Западом. Хотя экономические преимущества вступления в ЕАЭС были минимальными, Армения вступила в него по политическим причинам и из соображений безопасности, а не исходя...
Policy Memo # 376
“У российского орла две головы. Одна смотрит на запад, другая - на восток.” Президент Борис Ельцин В 2012 г. Россия экспортировала в крохотные Нидерланды 550.000 баррелей нефти в сутки, а экспорт нефти в Китай был ниже 500.000 баррелей (Рисунок 1). Согласно «гравитационной модели» торговли, объем торговли прямо пропорционален суммарному объему ВВП двух стран и обратно пропорционален расстоянию между ними, а следовательно...
Policy Memo # 375
Эйки Берг 12 Aug 2015
За последние пять лет Абхазии было уделено больше международного внимания, чем в любой другой период ее более чем 20-летнего существования в качестве фактически независимого государства.  В 2009 году Запад запустил новую стратегию налаживания отношений с Сухуми, которая шла параллельно грузинским инициативам. В рамках этой стратегии Абхазии была предоставлена возможность установить более тесные отношения с Западом по политическим, экономическим,...
Policy Memo # 374
Харрис Милонас, Ариэль Ахрам 10 Aug 2015
Де-факто государства – это политические образования, которые контролируют территорию, но не имеют международного признания. Такого рода образования подрывают принципы нерушимости границ и территориальной целостности во многих отношениях. Само существование де-факто государств являетcя бельмом на глазу для современной системы государств в целом. Выпадение одного государства становится лишь первым шагом на опасном пути, который недавно был обозначен...
Policy Memo # 373
Первое поколение центрально-азиатских президентов не будет жить вечно. Череда смены правителей, порожденная смертью или состоянием здоровья национальных лидеров, -  это лишь вопрос времени. Вопрос о том, что последует за уходом главы государства, стал темой многочисленных размышлений специалистов по центрально-азиатскому региону, которые в прошлое десятилетие посвятили уйму времени анализу предсказуемо непредсказуемого Кыргызстана. В предстоящем...

Pages

Policy Memos | Аналитические записки

Policy Memo # 382
Anar Valiyev 26 Aug 2015
Azerbaijan is located at the crossroads of major Eurasian land and air transportation corridors. Since gaining independence, the Azerbaijani government has actively tried to make the country a bridge between Europe and Asia. Over the last decade, it has invested billions of dollars into commercial infrastructure and transportation projects. It is finalizing construction of the largest port in the Caspian Sea (in Alyat, 60 kilometers south of Baku), it has...
Policy Memo # 381
Mark Kramer 25 Aug 2015
The devastating civil war in Syria and the long-standing turmoil in Iraq have been magnets for jihadists (and aspiring jihadists) from the Caucasus and Central Asia. No sooner had a civil war erupted in Syria in 2011 than militant Islamists from post-Soviet states began flocking there. More recently, some have also made their way to Iraq to fight on behalf of the ultra-radical Islamic State jihadist organization, which over the past year and a half has...
Policy Memo # 380
Eric McGlinchey 20 Aug 2015
It is often said that China, Russia, and the United States are playing a “great game” in Central Asia. To the extent that these three states are playing games in Central Asia, they are in fact decidedly different ones. China is playing Monopoly. Russia is playing Risk. The United States is playing Solitaire. For policymakers in Beijing, the game is business. For policymakers in Moscow, the game is existential. For policymakers in Washington,...
Policy Memo # 379
Henry Hale, Nadiya Kravets, Olga Onuch 18 Aug 2015
As war continues to victimize Ukraine, various observers and participants have proposed a number of potential solutions to the conflict, ranging from greater regional autonomy to federalism to partial territorial breakup. While politicians are engaging in the most prominent debates and decision-making, the perceptions of Ukraine’s population will be central to the success of any such political solution. What exactly are the public’s...
Policy Memo # 378
Caress Schenk 17 Aug 2015
(Guest contribution) In preparation for Romanian and Bulgarian citizens’ full access to the EU labor market in January 2014, UK Prime Minister David Cameron proposed a new policy agenda that would reduce welfare and employment benefits to migrants from European Union member states, in contravention of EU principles. The proposal launched a debate within the UK about the ability of domestic legislation to counter EU treaty provisions. In light of such...
Policy Memo # 377
Sergey Minasyan 14 Aug 2015
Armenia’s accession to the Russia-led Eurasian Economic Union (EEU) earlier this year appeared to further pigeonhole Armenia as Russia’s enduring ally. Nonetheless, Yerevan continues to seek political and commercial equilibrium in its relations with Russia and the West. Although the economic benefits of joining the EEU have been minimal, Armenia joined the bloc for political and security-oriented reasons, not economic and financial ones. Now...
Policy Memo # 376
Vladimir Popov 14 Aug 2015
In 2012, Russia exported 550,000 barrels of oil per day (bpd) to tiny Netherlands, but less than 500,000 bpd to China (Figure 1). According to the “gravity model” of trade, the volume of trade is proportional to the size of two countries’ GDPs and inversely related to the distance from each other, so Russian exports to China should greatly exceed exports to the Netherlands. China’s GDP is at least an order of magnitude larger than that of the Netherlands...
Policy Memo # 375
Eiki Berg 12 Aug 2015
Over the last five years, Abkhazia has received more international attention than ever before in its over two decades of de facto statehood. In 2009 the West launched an engagement strategy paralleling Georgia’s own initiatives for dealing with Abkhazia. According to this strategy, Abkhazia was given the opportunity to engage with the West on a number of political, economic, social, and cultural issues, while leaving recognition as an independent...
Policy Memo # 374
Harris Mylonas, Ariel I. Ahram 10 Aug 2015
De facto states are political entities that possess control of territory but lack international recognition. Such entities appear to violate the norm of border fixity and the principle of territorial integrity in multiple ways. The mere existence of these de facto states seems to represent a thorn in the side of the contemporary state system as a whole. The breakaway of one state is just a step on the slippery slope, what some have recently referred to as...
Policy Memo # 373
Scott Radnitz 05 Aug 2015
The first generation of Central Asian presidents will not be around forever. It is only a matter of time before the region experiences several successions stemming, most likely, from the death or incapacitation of a leader. What follows the passing of the head of state has been a topic of much speculation among Central Asia watchers, who in the last decade have spent inordinate time analyzing predictably unpredictable Kyrgyzstan. In the next decade, the...

Pages