Will Armenia Recognize the Independence of Nagorno-Karabakh?

02 Oct 2020

(defactostates.ut.ee) Nagorno-Karabakh Republic (NKR) has not been recognized by any UN member state, including Armenia. There have been some rumors about Uruguay’s willingness to recognize NKR’s independence as well as Tuvalu’s intentions to establish diplomatic relations. So far, however, none of these have materialized. NKR has been recognized by Abkhazia, South Ossetia and Transnistria, but these recognitions do not bare any international legal consequence as far as these entities themselves remain outside of international society. The same is true with such subnational entities as Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Louisiana, Maine, California, Georgia, Hawaii, Michigan, Colorado, Minnesota in the U.S.; New South Wales in Australia; and Basque Country in Spain, which all have adopted a motion supporting NKR’s right to self-determination in one way or the other. [...]

Read More © defactostates.ut.ee

Co-author: Shpend Kursani