Policy Memos

EU-Russian Border Security: Stereotypes and Realities

Policy Memo:


Publication Date:



Russia has land borders with five European Union states: Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, and Poland. The aggregate length of these borders is more than 2,250 kilometers, roughly one-fifth of all EU land boundaries and one-tenth of Russia’s own border. The EU-Russian border is guarded rather strictly by the so-called “Schengen curtain,” named for the European visa regime that now allows visa-free travel within 24 European states while hindering such travel across the EU’s eastern border. This regime is designed to protect “fortress Europe” against unwanted migration, drug trafficking, other criminal activity, and terrorism. [...]

More (PDF)


About the author

Lead Researcher, Peace and Conflict Studies
Institute of World Economy & International Relations (IMEMO), Moscow