Policy Memos | Аналитические записки

Policy Memo # 451
На протяжении последних двух десятилетий центральноазиатские государства пытаются сохранять определенную дистанцию с региональным гегемоном, которым является Россия. Они стремятся соблюдать баланс между хорошими отношениями с Москвой и одновременным сохранением внутренних легитимности и суверенитета. Их подход обусловлен тремя факторами: 1) структурной зависимостью от России; 2) степенью настойчивости Москвы относительно подчинения ее политике; и 3)...
Policy Memo # 450
Разногласия между Россией и США в области противодействия вооруженному экстремизму и терроризму носят долгосрочный и объективный характер. Они проистекают из фундаментальных различий между государственно-политическими системами, культурами, системами ценностей, историческим опытом, национальными интересами и глобальной ролью этих двух стран, которые сохранятся и в будущем. Тем не менее, даже несмотря на резкое ухудшение двусторонних российско-американских...
Policy Memo # 449
Ученые продолжают обсуждать, раскачают ли режим президента Владимира Путина экономические потрясения и общественное недовольство внутри страны и изоляция за рубежом. По большей части рассуждения о путинских стратегиях выживания сосредотачивается на репрессиях и агрессивных военных жестах. Это несколько затемняет другую важную стратегию режима: быть в высшей степени чувствительным к общественному мнению, искусно реагировать на общественные настроения и...
Policy Memo # 448
Движущей силой российской внешней политики является поиск политическими элитами новой основы для национальной гордости после того, как распад Советского Союза разрушил старую советскую идентичность. Исчезновение СССР не дискредитировало его статус великой державы, обретение которого вновь остается ключевым устремлением российских политических элит. В соответствии со своими представлениями о должном статусе России в мире и регионе, эти элиты также...
Policy Memo # 447
Российско-китайское партнерство пробуксовывает и перекашивается, и никакие пропагандистские приукрашивания не могут представить его процветающим. Фундаментом в достраивании этого партнерства до стратегического уровня должны были стать экономические связи, о качественном наращивании которых было торжественно объявлено в середине 2014 года на фоне резкой эскалации украинского кризиса и сползания России в новую конфронтацию с Западом. Вместо запланированного...
Policy Memo # 446
Пол Гуд 04 Nov 2016
Вскоре после вступления в должность президента в 2012 году Владимир Путин приступил к осуществлению ряда политических и экономических реформ, имевших целью усилить контроль правительства над регионами, укрепить контроль исполнительной власти президента над парламентом и восстановить платежеспособность государства. Тогда как эти разнообразные шаги привлекли большое внимание исследователей и журналистов, менее замечен был выдвинутый одновременно проект...
Policy Memo # 445
За последние четверть века США и Россия не раз заявляли, что не имеют враждебных намерений в отношении противоположной стороны. Тем не менее им не удается избежать регулярных обострений напряженности. Эта «ненужная вражда» может иметь своим объяснением феномен под названием «дилемма статуса», концепция которого перекликается с более широко известной «дилеммой безопасности». В недавно опубликованной книге «Статус...
Policy Memo # 444
Летом 2016 года многие в западных политических кругах стали задаваться вопросом о том, не пошел ли Президент Турции Реджеп Тайип Эрдоган по стопам своего российского коллеги, и как далеко этот путь может завести его страну.  Неудачная попытка государственного переворота, состоявшаяся 15 июля, изменила турецкую внутриполитическую динамику совершенно непредсказуемым образом. На многие из возникших в этой связи вопросов теперь уже можно дать более или...
Policy Memo # 443
Начиная с вторжения в Крым в феврале 2014 года, Россия использует свои вооруженные силы за рубежом с беспрецедентной частотой. В зависимости от того, что считать использованием военной силы, после Крыма таких случаев было уже до пяти, в том числе: Поддержка сепаратистов на Донбассе начиная с марта 2014 г. Прямое военное вмешательство, кульминацией которого стала операция под Иловайском в конце августа 2014 г. Военное вмешательство, которое...
Policy Memo # 442
В 2011 году четыре государства Центральной Азии подписали в Ашхабаде Совместный план действий, обязуясь сообща противостоять радикализму и терроризму в регионе. С тех пор у центрально-азиатских государств дела обстоят лучше, чем у многих других регионов мира, в предотвращении и пресечении терроризма; безусловно, недавние теракты в Бишкеке и Казахстане – это напоминание о том, как редки смертоносные теракты в Центральной Азии в сравнении с Европой,...

Pages

Links / Ссылки

Policy Memos | Аналитические записки

Policy Memo # 451
Scott Radnitz 29 Nov 2016
(PONARS Policy Memo) The Central Asian states have endeavored over the past two decades to maintain the appropriate amount of distance from the regional hegemon, Russia. They have sought to balance good relations with it while preserving internal legitimacy and sovereignty. Their approach has hinged on three factors: (1) their structural dependence on Russia; (2) the level of Russia’s insistence on conformity to its policies; and (3) their...
Policy Memo # 450
(PONARS Policy Memo) Disagreements between Russia and the United States on how to counter violent extremism and terrorism are long-term and objective in nature. These stem from fundamentally different political systems, cultures, values, historical experiences, national interests, and global roles that are unlikely to disappear anytime soon. However, even as bilateral relations have deteriorated sharply since 2014 between the United States and Russia,...
Policy Memo # 449
Tomila Lankina 15 Nov 2016
(PONARS Policy Memo) Pundits continue to debate whether economic shocks, public discontent at home, and isolation abroad will shake President Vladimir Putin’s regime. Much of the commentary on Putin’s survival strategies has focused on repression and aggressive military posturing. This somewhat obscures another important strategy: being highly sensitive to the public mood, deftly reacting to public sentiment, and effecting rapid policy shifts...
Policy Memo # 448
Dmitry Gorenburg 11 Nov 2016
(PONARS Policy Memo) Russian foreign policy is driven by the political elites’ search for a new basis for national self-esteem after the collapse of the Soviet Union disrupted old Soviet identities. The collapse did not discredit the Soviet Union’s status as a great power, which has thus remained a core aspiration for Russian political elites. As a result of their perception of Russia’s appropriate status in the world and in their region...
Policy Memo # 447
Pavel Baev 08 Nov 2016
(PONARS Policy Memo) No amount of propaganda can hide the fact that the Russian-Chinese partnership is not progressing well. Economic cooperation was supposed to constitute a solid foundation for a new surge in bilateral ties, as heralded in mid-2014 against the background of the Ukraine conflict and heightened Russia-West confrontation. In reality, trade volume between the two countries contracted by about a third in 2015, which they explained away with...
Policy Memo # 446
Paul Goode 04 Nov 2016
(PONARS Policy Memo) Soon after assuming the presidency in 2012, Vladimir Putin launched a series of political and economic reforms intended to strengthen the hand of the central government over Russia’s regions, consolidate presidential executive control over parliament, and restore the state’s solvency. While these various moves earned a great deal of scholarly and journalistic attention, the simultaneous initiative to consolidate society...
Policy Memo # 445
Mikhail Troitskiy 27 Oct 2016
(PONARS Policy Memo) Despite multiple official declarations of non-adversarial intentions issued by the United States and Russia over the past quarter-century, both sides have been unable to avoid repeated bouts of conflict escalation. This “unnecessary rivalry” can be explained in part as a “status dilemma”—a concept modeled on the better-known notion of “security dilemma.” In the groundbreaking volume Status in...
Policy Memo # 444
Ayse Zarakol 21 Oct 2016
(PONARS Policy Memo) By the summer of 2016, it had become relatively commonplace in Western policy circles to wonder if Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan was following in the footsteps of Russian President Vladimir Putin, and, if so, how far down that path he would take Turkey. The failed coup attempt in Turkey on July 15 changed many dynamics within Turkey in unpredictable ways. Many questions that have been raised can now be answered more...
Policy Memo # 443
Samuel Charap 19 Oct 2016
​(PONARS Policy Memo) Russia has used its military beyond its borders with unprecedented frequency in the period since the invasion of Crimea in February 2014. Depending on how one counts, there are up to five cases of the use of force that followed Crimea:  - Support for the insurgency in the Donbas from March 2014.  - Direct military intervention that culminated in Ilovaisk in late August 2014.  - Intervention that ended with...
Policy Memo # 442
George Gavrilis 06 Oct 2016
(PONARS Policy Memo) In 2011, four Central Asian states signed a Joint Plan of Action in Ashgabat pledging to work together to counter radicalization and terrorism in the region. Since then, Central Asia’s states have fared far better than other world regions in avoiding or suppressing terrorism; indeed, the recent attacks in Bishkek and Kazakhstan are a reminder of how rare deadly terrorist attacks are in Central Asia in comparison to Europe, the...

Pages